Not my problem

I’ve always cringed when I’ve heard people say those words,  “Hey, not my problem!”  It comes across so flippantly, so lacking in compassion.  Usually it occurs when someone they work or live with has an issue and, not wanting to get involved or help, they simply pop out a “not my problem” and walk away.  It dumbfounds me.  Variations I’ve heard are, “Sucks to be you,” or “Tough luck,”  or worse, “Glad I’m not you!”

One of the reasons I love my husband is that he cares about what I care about.  I remember years ago being frantic about a missing photo.  I was nearing a mild panic when he came home for lunch and saw me searching.  He could have easily gotten himself something to eat and read the paper while I searched, but he got right to work.  After we found it, I told him how much I appreciated how he took the time to absorb my stress and rolled up his sleeves to get to work at alleviating it.  He said, “If it’s important to you, it’s important to me.”  (insert dreamy sigh)

Just today God blessed me with solving another problem.  This was one that I had no idea how to solve and three phone calls and one piece of solicited advice had gotten me nowhere fast.  I imagined a few worst-case scenarios as I took a walk, telling my hubbie about this problem and not having a clue what to do about it.  But I’ve learned a few things over the years and I concluded as I have with many other topics in the past: “It’s not my problem to solve.  God knows about it.  He can deal with it quite capably.  Let’s see what He does.”

Well I only had to wait three days.  Not only did I learn that my problem is solve-able but it has the best, I-never-dreamed-I could-have-it-this-good solution!!  Though I did some leg-work to get this issue addressed, I did nothing but receive this news as gift straight from His hand.  Knowing that He is trust-worthy and more than able to meet my needs has been a beautiful part of my day.

So if there’s something you worry about or causes you stress, ask yourself if maybe it isn’t your problem to solve.  Give it to the One who is more than able to meet and surpass your problems, because if it’s important to you, it’s important to Him.

One thought on “Not my problem

  1. Sue – sorry I have not been better at communicating with you. I have thought about u this fall and wondered how classes are, etc.. Tea would be delightful. This morning I wanted to thank you and encourage you for your posts. They are so refreshing. This momma has had a pretty heavy heart regarding James and BriAnna lately, and I again woke up with quite a headache. I made myself pumpkin spice tea and read 2 of your posts I hadn’t yet read. Thanks for the reminder that it is God’s problem, and also that He is growing both kids (all of us) at His rate and way, and they will bloom in His time and in certain areas, as will I. Feel my hug today. Blessings as you keep writing. Lisa

    Sent from my Sprint phone

    Sue Likkel wrote:

    > a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; } /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com Sue Likkel posted: “I’ve always cringed when I’ve heard people say those words,  “Hey, not my problem!”  It comes across so flippantly, so lacking in compassion.  Usually it occurs when someone they work or live with has an issue and, not wanting to get involved or help, the”

Leave a Reply

